So I thought long and hard about what my first post would say and as a normal day in my life would have it, I've done a million different things and tended to as many distractions between now and then. As you may have guessed from the title, I am a Mom with ADH/D just trying to blend in and live life as normally as possible- which is probably exactly where I go wrong every day. Just as the world is not made for short people, neither is it conducive to those who struggle with every day tasks that should be easy.
Some friends of ours (our kids' friends) are visiting this evening and I was thinking about how envious I am that their bed time is 7pm. I wish I could get it together enough to make that happen consistently but every ADDer knows the only thing consistent in my life/our lives is inconsistency. Oh and my remarkable ability to be late to just about everything.
My kids are 4 & 6 and I'm amazed at their patience because I would have kicked me out a long time ago. They suffer because of my symptoms and I think this is the most hurtful thing of all about this condition. Due to inability to adequately plan, lay out my day and evening, and to have an accurate concept of time, they don't get enough rest and neither do I.
In my attempt to be normal, started out this school year (oh, I homeschool, did I mention that?) I laid out a new schedule for us in the hopes that I can just follow along every day but it ain't workin' out so well. Nap is always late, so that causes bed time to be late and if bed time is late, how do I ever achieve the goal of 7pm like most normal, healthy kids? This sleeplessness is really affecting their ability to remember what they learn, which is scary and makes me wonder on my bad days when I beat myself up if I'm cut out for this and maybe I should just send them to school.
But I know I'm their Mom and no one else can do any better for them because this is MY job and I'll try like crazy for their sake, if nothing else, to keep things as normal as possible for them. So we trudge on with trying to get the new schedule right...until Daylight Savings comes around (ugh!!).
No comments:
Post a Comment